| | | |

A decade of Champions Trophy wins! The last ICC trophy lifted by Team India on this day

Friday (June 23) marks ten years since the Indian cricket team won the last ICC trophy, the 2013 Champions Trophy. It was the last of the six ICC trophies won by the Indian men’s cricket team. Today let us relive the memories of this ICC Trophy victory.

The Indian team participated in the tournament under the leadership of MS Dhoni, who is known as the captain who won the T20 and ODI World Cup for India. In 2002, the Indian team won the tournament under the leadership of Sourav Ganguly. However, due to rain in the final match, India and Sri Lanka were declared joint winners. So, in the 2009 Champions Trophy, the Indian team failed to enter the semi-finals.

The Indian team joined the Champions Trophy with openers Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan. However, Rohit Sharma opened with Shikhar in the first match against South Africa after failing to win in the warm-up matches. Dhoni’s decision was extremely successful and he scored a century in the very first match. The Indian team defeated South Africa, West Indies and traditional rivals Pakistan in the league round. Then in the semi-final match against Sri Lanka, the Indian team reached the final with a one-sided victory.

In the final round, the Indian team had to face the hosts England. After almost five hours of play was lost due to rain, the final match was played for 20 overs each. England bowled brilliantly and restricted the Indian team to 129 runs in this match. Virat Kohli top scored for India with 43 runs. England looked in a strong position while chasing these runs. However, in the eighteenth over, Ishant Sharma dismissed the assembled Ravi Bopara and ON Morgan. Then in the next over, Ravindra Jadeja dismissed Buttler to seal India’s victory. In the last over, Ravichandran Ashwin stopped the last pair and gave India a 5-run victory.

With this, Dhoni became the first player and the only captain to win all three ICC trophies. Since then the Indian team has participated in nine ICC tournaments so far in which the team has failed to win.

(Ten Years Of ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Victory Last Trophy Of India Under MS Dhoni)

Important news-
The cause of Warne’s death came out after 15 months! Many shocking revelations in the report
Why veteran cricketers don’t apply for selection committee membership? A big reason came up

 🏏 क्रिकेट विषयी माहिती साठी व मदती साठी जॉईन करा आमचे सोशल मीडिया व्हॉट्सॲप ग्रुप, टेलिग्राम ग्रुप, फेसबुक पेज ईथे क्लीक करा 💬

🔥 व्हॉट्सॲप ग्रुप (WhatsApp group)

जॉईन करा 

🔥 टेलिग्राम ग्रुप ( Teligram Group)

जॉईन करा

🔥 फेसबूक ग्रुप (Facebook Group)

जॉईन करा

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *