| | | |

Bapre! Only two of the 16 players from the 2011 World Cup winning team are still playing cricket for Team India

India won the 2011 World Cup under the leadership of MS Dhoni. This ODI World Cup was created by India winning again after 28 years. At that time, every player in the Indian team contributed a lot to India’s victory.

Such was the team of 16 players
A 16-member Indian team was announced for this World Cup. The team consists of MS Dhoni, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, R Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Virat Kohli, Pravin Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel, Yusuf Pathan, Suresh Raina and S Sreesanth. was included.

After 2013, the legends said goodbye to cricket
After 2013, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Zahir Khan, Pravin Kumar, Ashish Nehra and Munaf Patel have also retired one by one. Many of these retired players have also chosen to take up coaching positions in the IPL.

Gambhir-Yuvraj also retired
Out of these 16, Gautam Gambhir, who scored an important knock of 97 runs in the final match against Sri Lanka, retired from cricket in December 2018 and Yuvraj Singh in 2019.

Some players had to lose their place in the team
However, some of the players in this World Cup had to lose their place in the Indian ODI team due to poor performance. R Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Yusuf Pathan and Suresh Raina were among the players who lost their place in the Indian ODI squad. Sreesanth was also banned for life by the BCCI in 2013 in the spot-fixing case. After the ban, he tried to make a comeback, but it was too late. So he also retired. Harbhajan Singh also retired.

Dhoni-Raina retired on the same day
MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina retired from international cricket on 15 August 2020 while Yusuf Pathan retired from cricket on 27 February 2021.

Some players are still expected to get a place in the squad today
Out of the 16 players selected in the World Cup then, R Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Virat Kohli did not retire from cricket. But among them, Piyush Chawla has gathered that the doors of the Indian team are almost closed.

Only two players are part of the team
Among the players who have played in this World Cup, Virat Kohli represents the Indian team in all three forms of cricket, while R Ashwin is a regular member of the Test team.

Read –

Why was the 2011 World Cup final tossed twice?

Stories of Cricket – An elephant came on the field and the Indian team chanted Lord Ganesha for victory in England

A Cricketer’s Story Episode 11: Murali Vijay Rejected from Team Due to Long Hair

 🏏 क्रिकेट विषयी माहिती साठी व मदती साठी जॉईन करा आमचे सोशल मीडिया व्हॉट्सॲप ग्रुप, टेलिग्राम ग्रुप, फेसबुक पेज ईथे क्लीक करा 💬

🔥 व्हॉट्सॲप ग्रुप (WhatsApp group)

जॉईन करा 

🔥 टेलिग्राम ग्रुप ( Teligram Group)

जॉईन करा

🔥 फेसबूक ग्रुप (Facebook Group)

जॉईन करा

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *