Big news is coming from the world of cricket. Sri Lanka spinner Vanindu Hasaranga has been fined by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for violating the rules. The second match of the Super 6 round of the ODI World Cup 2023 qualifiers was played on Friday (June 30) between Sri Lanka and the Netherlands. During this match, Hasranga showed unnecessary aggression against the Netherlands. Now ICC has issued a statement on this.
The ICC issued a statement saying that Wanindu Hasaranga was found guilty of breaching the ICC rules relating to cricket items, clothing, or objects on the field during the match. In fact, Hasrangane was going back to the tent after being eliminated in the match. This time he hit the hoardings on the border. In this Hasaranga has accepted his mistake. After this one demerit mark was added to his account.
This is the second time this has happened in the last 24 months. Now 2 demerit points are added to his account. In fact, this charge at level 1 at least officially carries a reprimanded warning to the player. Also, most players are fined 50 percent of the match fee.
A second demerit point was added to Wanindu Hasaranga’s disciplinary record following his dismissal against the Netherlands at the #CWC23 Qualifier.
— ICC (@ICC) July 2, 2023
Sri Lanka’s performance
Talking about the ODI World Cup 2023 (ODI World Cup 2023) qualifier round, the Sri Lankan team has performed brilliantly. The team tops the Super 6 round with 6 points. Sri Lanka had beaten the Netherlands in the first match. Hasranga bowled well in this match. He took 2 wickets for 53 runs while bowling 10 overs.
Talking about Hasranga’s individual performance in the qualifiers, he has taken the most wickets. He has achieved the highest 20-wicket haul in 5 matches. Meanwhile, Hasranga has achieved the feat of taking not one but five wickets 3 times. (sri lanka spinner wanindu hasaranga reprimanded for violating icc code of conduct icc wc 2023 qualifier)
Not Out decision by TV umpires on Starc’s catch, Australian legend lashed out, ‘This is utter stupidity…’
Catch controversy again in the Ashes! There was a fight over ‘that’ catch by Starc