KKR-Punjab match umpires confused! What happened in the ninth over?
IPL 2023 will be filled with double header matches on April. The first match was played at 3.30 PM in Mohali between Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders. The batsmen batted well in this match. Meanwhile, while the Punjab Kings team was batting, an incident occurred, which forced the umpire to apologize.
KKR decided to bowl first in this match which was held at the stadium in Mohali. Young opener Prabhasimran Gill scored an aggressive 23 runs for Punjab. Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who came next, scored 50 runs off 32 balls while batting fast. Skipper Shikhar Dhawan scored 40, Jitesh Sharma 21, Raza 16 and Karan 26 not out to take the team to 191 for 5. Saudi picked up 2 wickets for KKR.
At the same time, an incident took place during this match in which the umpires themselves were confused. All-rounder Shardul Thakur bowled the ninth over of Punjab’s innings. After five balls of this over, the umpire announced the end of the over. At that time all the fielders changed their places. Also the ball was handed over to the new bowler. However, the third umpire noted that the over was not over. He immediately told umpire Bruce Oxenford over the microphone that there was one ball left in the over. The umpire apologetically called Shardul to bowl again. No run was scored on this ball.
However, this over proved costly for the KKR team. A total of 12 runs were scored in this over. Rajapakse hit two fours in this over. The umpires were confused as a no ball came in this over.
(KKRvPBKS Umpiring Error Shardul Thakur Five Bowl Over)
Did Dhoni get hurt in the first match? Coach says, “At this age point…”
“No worries when he’s in the team”, praises Rashid from skipper Hardik
🏏 क्रिकेट विषयी माहिती साठी व मदती साठी जॉईन करा आमचे सोशल मीडिया व्हॉट्सॲप ग्रुप, टेलिग्राम ग्रुप, फेसबुक पेज ईथे क्लीक करा 💬