Ashes series 2023 catch and controversy is not going to stop. Currently, the second Test match of the series is being played between England and Australia. Former Australia fast bowler Glenn McGrath has questioned the decision of the TV umpires during this match. Glenn McGrath has slammed TV umpires. He has said that if Ben Duckett is unbeaten, then all the catches so far must be unbeaten.
What did McGrath say?
Speaking to the media, Glenn McGrath said, “This is the most stupid thing I have ever seen. Starc had control of the ball. If he is not out, any other catches taken so far must be not out. It is ridiculous to say that the ball is not under control. He controlled the catch with both hands and everyone saw it.”
It happened that Cameron Green bowled the second last over on the fourth day of the match. This time England batsman Ben Duckett shot in the air towards fine leg. Mitchell Starc (Mitchell Starc) who was standing there took this catch in the air while running on the left side. After taking the catch, Starc signaled that he was out. The field umpire also declared the batsman out. Duckett was going back to the tent at this point, but was stopped by the umpires and sent the decision to the TV umpires.
This time the TV umpire declared Ben Duckett not out after watching the replay. According to the TV umpires, the ball touched the ground. Also, it looked that way in the replay.
In relation to the below incident, Law 33.3 clearly states that a catch is only completed when the fielder has “complete control over the ball and his/her own movement.”
— Marylebone Cricket Club (@MCCOfficial) July 1, 2023
What does MCC rule say?
MCC Rule 33.3 clearly states that a catch is complete only when the fielder has full control of the ball and his pace. However, Starc takes the catch well, but the moment the ball touches the ground, Starc has lost control. So the third umpire declared the batsman not out. (former cricketer glenn mcgrath slams tv umpire in mitchell starc catch controversy said this know here)
Catch controversy again in the Ashes! There was a fight over ‘that’ catch by Starc
De Villiers’ shocking revelation about retirement; Said, ‘There was no one for me at that time…’