The final match of the World Test Championship has reached a colorful stage. India need 280 runs to win on the final day. However, at the same time, a controversial incident took place in the final match on the fourth day. Indian opener Shubman Gill’s catch by Cameron Green has come under controversy. However, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has now clarified the entire issue.
The Indian team has got a challenge of 444 runs in the last innings to win this match. After Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma came in to bat in the second innings, they gave the team a good start. However, in the eighteenth over of the innings, Gill returned to the tent after scoring 18 runs. Scott Boland was bowling in this over when Cameron Green took the catch. The catch was suspicious. However, he was dismissed by third umpire Richard Kettlebrough. In the viral photos and videos, the ball in Green’s hand can be seen hitting the ground. This catch has created a big controversy.
Now the ICC came forward and gave its reaction on this matter. In a social media post, ICC wrote,
Soft signal was not used in this case. This decision has been lifted in June. So the third umpire takes the final decision by looking at all the camera angles. Green’s fingers were initially under the ball. When the umpires feel that the ball is in hand and under control, they dismiss the batsman. After that, even if the ball hits the ground in the next process, the batsman is not out. So Gill is out.’
The Sourav Ganguly-led committee has removed the shop signal rule from cricket in May itself. England vs Ireland was the only Test played with this new rule.
(ICC Explain Why Shubman Gill Out In WTC Final When Cameron Green Took Catch)
Important News –
Kohli is the boss of the fifth day in the Test! ‘This’ statistic raises the expectations of fans
Virat after Sachin! ‘King Kohli’ did a great feat by taking the chance of the WTC final